Coming to terms with life

This has been a really rough 24 hours.  I’ll not go into details but basically I ended up in A&E after sawing my hand in half (slight exaggeration), some drunk blokes kung fu kicked our fence to pieces just hours after me and Tim fixed it and some drunk blokes came and abused some work men in our garden cus they were rebuilding our shed that some geezers broke into a few months back.

It has been so stressful.  But two friends from church just came round and we chatted with them and prayed about it and I feel more resolute now.

I had been despondent for much of the last 24 hours.  I proudly say that I surrender every bit of my life to God but it is difficult to understand why he would allow so much stress for us especially when we are trying to move.  I think that is why I am a bit down…cus I know deep inside that if I am to follow God wherever he will take me over the coming years it is going to be chuffing difficult.  The Bible never promises life will be easy…in fact it promises that if we are faithful to God then life will be hard!  I question whether I can truly accept that but if I don’t that would mean turning my back on God and I just couldn’t do that.  So that leaves me with coming to terms with this life and world and trying to make the best of it.

There is a great thing though.  And that is that the Bible does promise God’s peace for us whatever we are going through.  So I claim that promise and say, “God!  Give me some of that peace before I explode!”  If you believe in praying please pray for us.

2 thoughts on “Coming to terms with life

  1. Sorry to hear about all this going on with your house and stuff. I feel really bad for you guys, it must be a horrible feeling with all this going on. Be sure we are thinking of you. There’s not a huge amount I can say right now, but keep your chin up and carry on doing what you are doing and carry on claiming that promise!

    We support you!

    Hope your hand is miraclously healed – a slight graze I’m sure?

    At least you know how ‘Lez I’ probably felt… (check my blog)

  2. cor 12 7-10 (didn’t know which version was better!)..:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” />

    My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
    My strength comes into its own in your weakness.
    Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.

    Or

    8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

    John 10: 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. 29My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all[d]; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30I and the Father are one.”

    Like u said u just need to get on with it and know he is God! (ull never understand him so quit trying!)

    love ya x

Leave a Reply

