I’m giving up the internet

It is Pancake Day today.  So, after the riotous joy of flour and eggs and milk fried together in a celebration of all that is pleasurable in life, there comes afterwards the period of time known as Lent.  It is symbolic of the 40 days Jesus spent fasting in the desert and lots of people like to give up things like chocolate during this time.

I have become increasingly aware of how much of a waste of time much of the internet has become in my life.  It has also come to my attention that many times I retreat into the cyber universe it is either to avoid an activity that would be very helpful and productive but takes up too much energy or it is to flee the stresses of life.

Therefore, I have decided to give up the internet for Lent.  I think this will be a good thing because instead of running to Facebook everytime life is a bit difficult I will hopefully spend more to running to God who is the only thing in this life that can really give my strength to continue.

I want you to understand that I am not aiming to become a social hermit.  I will still be using my email  and friends may even like to call using the once familiar communication tool known as the ‘telephone’.  I am not being too hopeful but maybe I will have the opportunity to meet some friends ‘face to face’!  I will also use the internet for one or two essential tasks such as online banking, finding info for work etc. but I hope you have caught the essence of what I am trying to do.

The idea was inspired by Claudia, one of the incredible young people I work with who told me she was giving up Facebook, and we would like to invite anybody else who thinks this would be a useful exercise to join us.  Whether you consider yourself a Christian or not the act of giving something up can only be beneficial and help you take a better look at your life without the buzz and distraction of games and instant chat getting in the way.

So I am signing off – until March 23rd – goodbye Facebook, Myspace, Scrabulous, Attack, MSN Messenger, Soccer Manager, BBC News…

But hopefully not goodbye to you…give me a call or drop me an email!  Or even pop round and see me!

Leave a Reply

