Minutes to Midnight: Part 1 – Shadow of the Day

Feeling a bit low today and listened to Linkin Park’s Minutes to Midnight all the way to work.  It is an incredible album with so many deep and honest themes running through the songs.  I want to blog about lots of them.  Here is the first one – please play it and read what I have written while listening to it.

Shadow of the Day

I guess the lyrics are a cliche but sometimes that is what you need.  Something or somebody to give you a commentary to what you are going through.  It gives you permission to feel what you are feeling.

‘And the shadow of the day, will embrace the world in grey, and the sun will set for you.’

The song was on the radio a lot at the beginning of the year which was perfect for me because my Grandad was dying very quickly.  He was a really great man who gave and gave his whole life.

It helped me come to terms with the reality that he was going and would be gone for ever but that that was ok.  ‘Sometimes goodbye’s the only way’.  Whenever I hear the song now I feel my emotions rise to the surface, I like it when I can feel them.  It keeps me connected to the experience and I can retain the knowledge that my Grandad was a real person who had a strong influence on my life.

He is gone now and I honestly don’t know where he is.  I have hope that he is with his Creator but it is only a hope and that makes me melancholy.  But it also gives me inspiration to spend time with my family while they, and I, are still here and also to pass on the colour that Grandad put into me, grey is temporary.

2 thoughts on “Minutes to Midnight: Part 1 – Shadow of the Day

  1. Pingback: Minutes to Midnight: Part 2 - Given Up « nathan the alien

  2. The trouble comes when we try to fashion our success to the outside world’s specifications even though these are not the specifications drawn up in our own hearts. For whom are we succeeding, for ourselves or for somebody else? Success, if it is to be mea

Leave a Reply

