Wars are expensive

“…please be reminded that smoking is only allowed in designated smoking areas and you will face a fine if you ignore this warning…in fact please be reminded that you will face a fine for nearly everything you do.  Wars are expensive and we rely on you to fund them. Thank you.”

These lyrics are from The Long Conveyor Belt by Misty’s Big Adventure*.  I don’t really mind paying taxes.  I understand them.  But I really don’t like the fact that billions of pounds of tax payers’ money goes on ‘defence’.  Yeah ‘defence’ lol!  I can’t say I’m a pacifist because my life has been too cushy for any such principle to be tested.  But I can say firmly we should not be in Afghanistan or Iraq and we certainly had no business in the Kosovo charade or in funding the Israeli forces.  Our spending on arms is symptomatic of the fact that this world is totally and utterly screwed up.

But we still hope.

* come and see Misty’s at Bar Academy in Brum on 23rd November!

One thought on “Wars are expensive

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

