Donny Rovers for Team of the Year

I just watched the promo video for the Yorkshire Sports Awards with soundtrack by Sheffield’s Little Man Tate and by the end my eyes were a little moist with pride for the great achievements of my home county this year.

Yorkshire achieved stacks of medals at the Olympics and and some awe-inspiring team performances which I, in my humble and totally unbiased opinion, think should be seriously considered for Team of the Year at the BBC Sports Personality bash in Liverpool tomorrow evening:

  • Leeds Rhinos – Rugby League World Champions
  • Doncaster Rovers – Beat Leeds United in play-off final to secure their third promotion in five years and a place in the Championship
  • Barnsley FC – reached the semi-finals of the FA Cup knocking out Liverpool and Chelsea on the way

I’m dead proud to be a Yorkshireman!  For the final time is your chance to vote in my own Sports Personality poll which I have had open for a few weeks, just over 24 hours to go till we find out who the winner is in what is the most competetive competition for years.

Leave a Reply

