Homosexuality

A few weeks back I had the pleasure of attending an event with work that promoted LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender) issues among young people.  I met some really great interesting people and heard some incredible stories of struggle and success from a group of very brave young people who stood up and shared their hearts in a hall full of adults.  Many of the speakers had obviously battled with adversity and become stronger better people because of it.

I need to state a couple of facts:

  1. I believe that acts of sex outside heterosexual marriage are wrong.
  2. I believe that the Church should be loving and accepting of all people.

If you disagree with either of those two statements feel free to take me up on it but that really isn’t the point of this blog.  I am writing it to try and get my head round the whole gay issue because I find it really provoking and confusing.

Ok, if you take somebody who has a problem with anger they would probably be quite happy if their anger issue was solved.  If, through their relationship with God, they found more peace and patience were not as angry as they used to be then they and those around them would be quite chuffed.

However, if you take somebody who is gay who would like to be married to/live with someone they love then my first statement suggests that would be wrong.  I would be equating it to any other sin such as anger, selfishness, greed.  However, if I proposed that they try and deal with it then I might be denying the essence of the person they are or have become and therefore am not accepting of them.

Many gay people would say that their sexuality is a huge part of who they are and their identity.  If it were the other way round and there was a group of people discussing how they could change my sexuality I would find that abhorrent.

Hmmm…I have more to say on this but need to think it through…

2 thoughts on “Homosexuality

  1. I hope you do think this through some more and come to accept us and our sexualities as as valid as yours. I am glad that you do believe that the Church and the churches should be accepting of us, as they are of their other children who have ‘strayed.’

    Question: Which is more valid in your interpretation of Church directions – the loveless, angry heterosexual married couple with no children, or the loving, committed, unmarried homosexual couple with children? Not to say that those are the only types that exist!

    Also, Paul said that women must be veiled because man was created first and it is primarily man who is the image of God (1 Corinthians 11:7-8) and that it is shameful for a man to wear long hair and a woman to wear short hair because ‘nature itself teaches us so’ (1 Corinthians 11:14). No woman is permitted to teach or to hold authority over men, and women are commanded to be silent ‘because Adam was formed first, then Eve; and Adam was not deceived, but the woman was deceived and became a transgressor (1 Timothy 2:12-14). Paul was much more emphatic about restricting women than he was about the sin of homosexuality (or rather, homosexual sex), and we don’t follow his guidelines about women today. Why should we follow what he says about gays?

    For an extremely interesting viewpoint on the subject of homosexual relationships and marriage, I recommend Andrew Sullivan’s article in The New Republic, “What You Do.” However, I haven’t been able to find it online – but if you remain very interested and thoughtful, I suggest the book “Same Sex Marriage, Pro And Con – A Reader” edited by Sullivan and with the above article included in Chapter 2.

  2. Hi Red and thanks for your response. Apologies for the belated reply.

    Without studying 1 Corinthians 11 I couldn’t give any response to your points on women. However, it is not Paul’s writings that convince me on homosexuality; rather it is the Genesis narrative which comments that a man will leave his family and become one flesh with a woman. God designed men and women to be united sexually, not those of the same sex.

    In terms of providing a loving home for a child I would go with the loving, committed, unmarried, homosexual couple any day. My job is to place homeless teenagers with families, and I have no qualms about placing them with same sex couples. Who am I to dictate how people live? However, if I were in authority over someone in the church context I would see it as my responsibility to teach them what I felt the Bible is very clear on regarding sexuality. I see homosexuality as a consequence of a fallen world. And Christ came to set us free from ALL the consequences of the fall.

Leave a Reply

