The Libya-Lockerbie thing: Part 1

Here’s my twopenneth about what has gone on this week with the Libyan fella convicted of murdering over 200 people in the Lockerbie plane disaster in 1988 and who has been freed on compassionate grounds, suffering from terminal cancer.

First of all I found the words of the Scottish First Minister the other day to be incredible.  It so rare these days that we hear people talk of unconditional mercy and compassion for somebody who doesn’t deserve it.  It was fascinating to listen to a politician talk of this and it felt very powerful.  It challenged me about our approach to justice in this country and reminded me that we are so caught up with what is ‘right’ and what is ‘fair’ that we so often miss the opportunity for forgiveness and reconciliation.

As I listened to some of the bereaved American relatives I realised they are far from forgiveness and even further from finding peace for themselves.  This is tragic and sad.  They now have the Scottish government to direct their hate too as well as Abdelbaset Ali al-Megrahi and they are even further away from finding peace in their own lives.  I don’t want to pretend that it is easy to forgive, I just want to say that the few relatives I have heard speak of forgiveness, and agree the guy should be freed, are in a much happier place than the bitter relatives.

This blog post is too long so I’ll leave my second point till tomorrow…

One thought on “The Libya-Lockerbie thing: Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Libya-Lockerbie thing: Part 2 « nathan the alien

Leave a Reply

