Anger – Part One

Do you ever get angry?  I do.

I guess most of us are susceptible to it.  For me, anger is a sneaky dangerous enemy.  He creeps upon me unawares and whips me out of a positive patient mood before I have chance to defend.  Only on the odd occasion can I remember ‘losing it’ but you don’t need to relinquish your finger nail grip on your temper to cause problems.  Because anger disorientates and clouds judgement.  You say the wrong thing and make foolish decisions.

I’ve noticed little children go through fazes where they don’t need much to get angry about.  They already have it in there bursting to get out and run rampage.  It is a natural difficulty of the human condition.

The only remedy I have for keeping control of my angry beast is to tap into the unquenchable peace that somehow and supernaturally comes from God.  There will always be things that provoke anger, and the cliché anger management techniques usually will keep it at bay to an extent, but the simplest and easiest thing to do is this….I ask God to make me peaceful and help me do the right things and make the right decisions and love other people as he loves them.  And it works  🙂

One thought on “Anger – Part One

  1. The most help I have ever had on the subject of anger was the book Boundaries by Cloud and Townsend.

    Some of their views will surprise you but it is really practical. The main benefit has been to understand why I am angry so that I can address the real issues and not vent at other people or bottle up my emotions.

    “Anger is a friend. It was created by God for a purpose: to tell us that there’s a problem that needs to be confronted,” page 70.

    It’s well worth reading.

Leave a Reply

