Do you hate sin?

John Wesley said,

“Give me one hundred men who fear nothing but sin and love nothing but God, I care not whether they be clergyman or laymen, they alone will shake the gates of hell and set up the kingdom of Heaven upon the earth.”

So I was thinking…how come the earth isn’t so radically changed?  How come the power of sin still grips the earth?

The answer, I believe, is that there are so few of us who seriously fear sin. who have an accurate view of the danger and destructiveness of sin.

I think most of us are quite happy to play around with sin as long as it doesn’t get us in too much trouble.  There are, of course, certain sins that would have negative consequences on our lives and so we have quite a motivation to steer clear of those.

However, there are so many subtle, small sins that we get so used to living with day by day.  Yet they have tangled and infected our lives like pondweed till we cannot even remember what it was like before the pondweed was there.  my desire is to take a much more serious view of sin.  I want to stamp it out from my life.  I want to recognise its damaging effects on my life, on my relationships and on my capacity to serve God.

You don’t need me to tell you what sin is.  If we truly want to rid our lives of sin we will put ourselves under God’s microscope and ask him to tell us what needs to change.  Then its just a matter of hating the sin that we find and doing everything we can to rid ourselves of the chains.

 

One thought on “Do you hate sin?

  1. Ummm ….. you do not define exactly what is “sin”. There seems to be a presumption on your part that the definition of “God”, is the same for everybody? Most of the answers, I would say, to the questions posed in your blog might be explained by personality as defined by Myer-Briggs. Then finding how the demographics of personality impact on society. A MBPI, IFNJ type personality represents around 1% of population. As does it’s counterpart an ENFJ, MBPI type. So, with 16 personality types and only 4 types representing over 60% of the population. It is easier for me to understand how it is largely, a world built for those 4 types.

    Even so and there is a wide spectrum of individuality in each MBPI type. The people within those types are going to provide us with the world we live in. I’m definitely not any kind of expert. It certainly provides me with some of the answers regarding your topic. ….. BTW Carl Jung showed early in his work, that homo sapiens has a religious nature. So the idea that there even is a “God”? Comes naturally to us. Really that does not really answer the question. When one looks through the eyes of the hubble telescope it is hard to see nothing but the science of it all; rather than the essence. So on goes the debate while the precious moments slip by.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

